

Dennis Wint Honored with Fellow Award for Outstanding Contribution

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: October 18, 2008

CONTACT: Sean Smith

202/783-7200 x113 ssmith@astc.org

PHILADELPHIA, PA – Dennis Wint, president and chief executive officer of The Franklin Institute in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, was presented today with the *ASTC Fellow Award for Outstanding Contribution*, the Association's highest honor. Dr. Wint accepted the award from Wit Ostrenko, ASTC's immediate past president and the president of the Museum of Science and Industry, Tampa, Florida, at the opening session of the 2008 ASTC Annual Conference. The Annual Conference, the world's largest gathering of science center professionals, is being hosted this year by Dr. Wint's own Franklin Institute.

The ASTC Fellow Award is bestowed upon individuals who merit special recognition for their significant contributions to the advancement of public understanding and appreciation of science and technology or of ASTC itself. First presented in 1974, it was most recently awarded in 2007 to Per-Edvin Persson, director of Heureka, the Finnish Science Centre, in Vantaa, Finland.

The text of Dr. Wint's award reads: "The Board of Directors and Members of the Association of Science-Technology Centers hereby present the *Fellow Award for Outstanding Contribution* to Dennis Wint for selflessly providing more than three decades of exemplary leadership, long-term vision, and integrity to the science center field. Often called upon to impart his counsel and experience, Dennis has, time and again, responded with wisdom and generosity. Your grateful colleagues are forever in your debt."

Dr. Wint has served The Franklin Institute since 1995, but the museum community overall for over 35 years. Prior to his work at The Franklin, Dr. Wint served as president of the Saint Louis Science Center, director of the Cranbrook Institute of Science in Michigan, and vice president of Philadelphia's Academy of Natural Sciences. He is an active member of ASTC, and has served the organization in a variety of capacities, including as co-chair of the Governance Committee, co-chair of the International Advisory Board, member of the Board of Directors, and president.

"ASTC is a far better, far stronger organization because of Dennis' leadership and involvement over the years," said Bonnie VanDorn, ASTC's executive director. "Dennis has always found a way to make sure that his institutions, ASTC, and the science center field as a whole stayed true to our roots and our mission. In many ways, I think of him as this organization's 'compass' – if we start to lose our way, we can always turn to Dennis to get us pointed in the right direction again. We owe him a lot."

The Association of Science-Technology Centers is an organization of 438 science centers and museums in 43 countries dedicated to furthering the public engagement with science among increasingly diverse audiences. ASTC encourages excellence and innovation in informal science learning by serving and linking its members worldwide and advancing their common goals. Through strategic alliances and global partnerships, ASTC also supports science centers and museums in proactively addressing critical societal issues, locally and globally, where understanding of and engagement with science are essential. Visit www.astc.org to learn more about ASTC and the *Fellow Award for Outstanding Contribution*, and to find a science center near you.